Chrysler 46RE trans control

'Microsquirt' Transmission Control development and support.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

auburncasey
MS/Extra Newbie

Chrysler 46RE trans control

Post by auburncasey »

I read through an earlier string on the Chrysler 41TE. I have a similar situation in that I have an early Chrysler Hemi coupled up to a Chrysler 46RE 4 speed O/D trans (A518E). The engine is controlled with a MS3X-V3.57 setup and the preferred method for trans control would be an MS product talking through the CAN bus. There are a few other options out there for trans control, but they are prohibitively expensive and I have no idea if they will communicate well with the MS3X.
I grew up around carbs and distributors. I'm not a coder and know just enough about tuning to be dangerous. There are thousands of this transmission series "out there". I'm hoping the gurus or the members of this forum (that may be redundant) can offer some advice on which product to use (Microsquirt, MSGIO, ??) and what code to use for starters. I'll spend the time and money to acquire the hardware and with some help from the forum try to get the trans under control. Matt Cramer said MS could own the market for standalone Chrysler trans controllers with a Microsquirt solution several years ago. I think the statement is still true today.

Looking for advice on where/how to start this journey................
steveh66
MS/Extra Newbie

Re: Chrysler 46RE trans control

Post by steveh66 »

so all those 4*R* series are all the same from 42RE to 48RE.

4 stand for 4 speed
2 stand for torque capability of 2 to 8
R is for rear wheel drive
E is for electrically controlled ( H for Hydraulics)

Its basically a Hydraulic controlled 3 speed with a 4th gear and lock up. The electrically controll is mainly the governor pressure at 1 psi per MPH.