Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solved..

All Megasquirt 1 support questions. See also the Documentation

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Post Reply
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solved..

Post by 2swe »

Hi everybody,

recently I decided to try table switching, as the 12x12 VE table was too small for my aplication.
so I have VE1 for 600-3900 RPM and VE3 for 3600-7300 RPM and two identical AFR target tables, one for each VE table.
I would rather have one AFR target table for both VE tables, but I do not know how to do it.

as you can see in attached scatter plot, everything is OK until 3900RPM, but then AFR targets stop following the table over 3900 RPM .
blue dots on the left side - 12.8 afr, green dots on the right - 14.8-15.1

help please ...
Last edited by 2swe on Mon May 19, 2014 11:00 am, edited 2 times in total.
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by 2swe »

MSQ
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 17507
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by Matt Cramer »

If you're not hitting your AFR targets, you need to retune your VE table.
Matt Cramer -1966 Dodge Dart slant six running on MS3X
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by 2swe »

Hi Matt, I'm glad you are here, but i wish you were more helpful :lol:

my VE table (tables) are 95% complete, but I wanted more resolution in low RPM area, so I'm triyng table switching.
VE table 1 for low rpm until 3900, VE table 3 for 3600-7400 rpm.

VE table 1 and AFR target table 1 works as expected, as you can see in the left side of the scatter plot, there are green dots representing 14,7 AFR in crusing area, yellow dots in overrun area, and blue dots in WOT area.

But after it switches to VE table 3 stange things happen..
as you can see in the right side of the scatter plot, it's almost all green (14,8-15,1AFR) except overrun area.
AFR target for WOT shoud be 12,8 over whole rev range, but it's not !
I have no idea where are those nubers coming from, but it's not from my AFR target table for VE 3.

So my VE table is tuned for 12,8 AFT at WOT, but over 3900, MS is targeting to 14,8-15,1 AFR, ego correction is leaning mixture down, I'm asking why ???


thanx for any input, sorry for my english.
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 17507
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:08 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by Matt Cramer »

My mistake - I had thought the plot was of the AFR and not the AFR Target. Can you post the actual log that came from?
Matt Cramer -1966 Dodge Dart slant six running on MS3X
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by 2swe »

1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by 2swe »

I think I have got it, there must be a bug in HR code, I'm running in Alpha-N mode, but AFR target table for VE3 table is running in speed-density mode...

How do I fix it ?
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: AFR target does not follow table..

Post by 2swe »

Found a difference between VE1 and VE3 AFR targets in MSNS-EXTRA.ASM

look at those pictures, diffrences highlighted..

I think there should be "AlphaTarAFR" instead of "TPSTargetAFR" under "NO_TPS_SetAFR2"? what do you think ?

If so, can I just edit ASM file, recompile with new ASM, load new S19, is it that simple ?
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Alpha-N : AFR target uses KPA, code writer needed.

Post by 2swe »

solved.
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
Gavin Lodewick
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by Gavin Lodewick »

Please explain how you solved this as I need to use this setup as well.
2swe wrote:solved.
thank Gavin
























i
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by 2swe »

open file MSNS-EXTRA.ASM in notepad. ( it should be in Program Files/MegaSquirt/msns-e_hr/src directory )
find " NO_TPS_SetAFR2: "
it looks like that:

Code: Select all

NO_TPS_SetAFR2:
        clrh
        clrx
        brset   TPSTargetAFR,feature7,AFR2_AN	; Have we selected to use
					; tps for target afrs instead of kpa?
        lda     kpa
        bra     AFR2_STEP_1
AFR2_AN:
        lda     tps

replace "TPSTargetAFR" with "AlphaTarAFR", it would now look like this:

Code: Select all

NO_TPS_SetAFR2:
        clrh
        clrx
        brset   AlphaTarAFR,feature7,AFR2_AN	; Have we selected to use
					; tps for target afrs instead of kpa?

        lda     kpa                    
        bra     AFR1_STEP_2

save the file and close notepad.

do a backup of "MSNS-EXTRA.S19"

execute "compile.bat" in "src" directory, it will create new "MSNS-EXTRA.S19" in "msns-e_hr" directory

now you can connect your laptop to MS, save your tune, load firmware (msns-e_hr/download-firmware.bat), load saved tune back.

thats all..




BTW: this bug affects all available code versions (HR10g HR11d and 029y4a), but only if you're running Alpha-N and table switching.
I had a talk with Phil Ringwood, so I think it will be fixed soon..
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
jsmcortina
Site Admin
Posts: 39617
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by jsmcortina »

There aren't any plans to release any new MS1/Extra codes. It was retired in 2007.

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
2swe
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:41 pm

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by 2swe »

I don't think anybody will release new code with new functions, but fixing known bug is not that much work, I'd do it just for good feeling..
1978 vw golf gti 16v itb cop full sequential MS2
1992 vw corrado 16v moonlight blue MS2
Gavin Lodewick
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by Gavin Lodewick »

2swe wrote:open file MSNS-EXTRA.ASM in notepad. ( it should be in Program Files/MegaSquirt/msns-e_hr/src directory )
find " NO_TPS_SetAFR2: "
it looks like that:

Code: Select all

NO_TPS_SetAFR2:
clrh
clrx
brset TPSTargetAFR,feature7,AFR2_AN ; Have we selected to use
; tps for target afrs instead of kpa?
lda kpa
bra AFR2_STEP_1
AFR2_AN:
lda tps

replace "TPSTargetAFR" with "AlphaTarAFR", it would now look like this:

Code: Select all

NO_TPS_SetAFR2:
clrh
clrx
brset AlphaTarAFR,feature7,AFR2_AN ; Have we selected to use
; tps for target afrs instead of kpa?

lda kpa
bra AFR1_STEP_2

save the file and close notepad.

do a backup of "MSNS-EXTRA.S19"

execute "compile.bat" in "src" directory, it will create new "MSNS-EXTRA.S19" in "msns-e_hr" directory

now you can connect your laptop to MS, save your tune, load firmware (msns-e_hr/download-firmware.bat), load saved tune back.

thats all..




BTW: this bug affects all available code versions (HR10g HR11d and 029y4a), but only if you're running Alpha-N and table switching.
I had a talk with Phil Ringwood, so I think it will be fixed soon..
Thanks Gavin
john.p.clegg
Running MSx/Extra
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:49 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Table switching & Alpha-N : AFR target 2 uses KPA, solve

Post by john.p.clegg »

I'd do it to stop people wasting the past week trying to use/tune table3 to AFR 2 and then trawling the forum to find a clue why my tune wasn't following the AFR table.......back to table 1 for now...

Thanks 2swe.

John :x
Post Reply