MS1 Single Coil wiring

All Megasquirt 1 support questions. See also the Documentation

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

grayfoxx
MS/Extra Newbie

MS1 Single Coil wiring

Post by grayfoxx »

Hey Guys,

I'm a noob so please be kind. I'm installing a brand new MS1 v2.2 on a 3cyl 800cc HUIHAI motor. It has a single coil with distributor. I am following this guide using a BIP373 http://www.msextra.com/doc/ms1extra/Diz ... ut_v22.htm . I'm a little confused about this line " It is good practice to provide the coil its own ground return by twisting a ground wire (pin 25, 27) together with the live coil wire (pin 29, 31)." I assume this means a twisted, insulated pair simply to prevent crosstalk? Also, where would I connect the hall sensor out of the distributor to the MS?

Thank you!
Roketa GK-25A
800cc
3cyl
EFI
Single Coil Ignition/Distributor
Megasquirt 1 v2.2 - hi-res 11d FW
grayfoxx
MS/Extra Newbie

Re: MS1 Single Coil wiring

Post by grayfoxx »

To expand on my question, could I not simply run Pin 1 of the BIP373 to R25 then run pins 2 and 3 straight out of the case to the coil and chassis ground respectively? What exactly do I gain from passing through X11,12,13, and 14?
Roketa GK-25A
800cc
3cyl
EFI
slow_hemi6
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by slow_hemi6 »

You still have to have the 330 ohm resistor between pin1 of the BIP373 and R25. All that is gained by using the X pins is a single point of disconnect and an element of neatness to the install, if that is something that concerns you. I have one ecu where I have 4 x BIP373 and they are mounted in a separate enclosure in the engine bay. Only the Pin1 signal wires go back to the ecu. I have another where I have 3 BIP373 installed inside the ecu and the coil and ground wires come out on a DB9 I installed on the case end.
Your hall input will depend a bit on the type and operation of the hall sender. Is it open collector ground switching or does it have an in built pull up?