MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

All Megasquirt 1 support questions. See also the Documentation

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby zuki1018 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:01 pm

Using TS, i can open project > MS1_BG_3.0 and my laptop connects to my MS1 v3 board fine. TS loads and my TPS has feedback (so i know its reading from MS). Using the MS1_Extra_Example or more appropriately, my custom project... TS will not connect to my board. I have tried the communication test inside MS.

Quick history,
I've been running Fuel and spark since i built the board 3 years ago. Never a connection issue via my Keyspan usb adapter to a laptop.
I decided to try and update my easyTherm settings and that is when the connection issue started. That was about 6 months ago and the best i can remember, something happend during this "update/connection". I couldn't get things to work since then. Perhaps something is corrupt and that is pretty much where i am at now.

I have tried re flashing the firmware but the app doens't find my controller on COM4. TS finds it on COM4 but only if i load a non "extra" default project. I am kinda stumped what else to try next.
zuki1018
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:57 am

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby kjones6039 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:01 pm

Curious....... Are you using the boot jumper?

Ken
1979 Corvette - 383 CID SBC w/ Holley Pro-Jection 900 CFM TBI, 4-85 lb lo-z injectors & Walbro 255 pump
MS2 v3 w/extra 3.4.2 Release
36-1, Delphi LS2/7 coils in wasted spark, driven by v2.0 logic board from JBPerformance
Spartan Lambda Sensor from 14point7
User avatar
kjones6039
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: Eureka, NV USA

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby jsmcortina » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:17 pm

It sounds like you have loaded MS1/BG firmware onto your ECU instead of MS1/Extra.

If you try to create a new project in TunerStudio, see what it says in the "Detect" stage.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33984
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby zuki1018 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:18 am

jsmcortina wrote:It sounds like you have loaded MS1/BG firmware onto your ECU instead of MS1/Extra.

If you try to create a new project in TunerStudio, see what it says in the "Detect" stage.

James


Thanks for the replied fella's. That could be possible when I was using EasyTherm I suppose. I will try creating a new project when I get back home.


kjones6039 wrote:Curious....... Are you using the boot jumper?

Ken


I am 90% sure I wasn't yesterday no. What are you thinking?
zuki1018
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:57 am

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby zuki1018 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:53 pm

NewProj2.jpg


This is the result of creating a new project in TS, then choosing "Detect". Connection says success and creates new project but not including MS Extra. Its fuel only but obviously connects to my board via COM4.

I figure there may be currupt data in my board or i mistakenly loaded MS fuel only. So then i added the boot jumper and try to re-flash and receive this message:
Error port.gif


It seems i am having a problem flashing the board at this point.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
zuki1018
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:57 am

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby jsmcortina » Fri Oct 20, 2017 1:06 pm

It looks for certain like you installed MS1/BG on your chip. Most likely through Easytherm. I've not used that in many years.

The second screenshot shows you trying to load the MS3 firmware ?! That won't work. You have an MS1.

Download and install the current MS1/Extra firmware.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 33984
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: MS1_BG_3.0 Loads but +Extra will not anymore?

Postby kjones6039 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:12 pm

zuki1018 wrote:
kjones6039 wrote:Curious....... Are you using the boot jumper?

Ken


I am 90% sure I wasn't yesterday no. What are you thinking?

Just that some here have had difficulty loading firmware without it. But it sounds like James is on the right track!

Ken
1979 Corvette - 383 CID SBC w/ Holley Pro-Jection 900 CFM TBI, 4-85 lb lo-z injectors & Walbro 255 pump
MS2 v3 w/extra 3.4.2 Release
36-1, Delphi LS2/7 coils in wasted spark, driven by v2.0 logic board from JBPerformance
Spartan Lambda Sensor from 14point7
User avatar
kjones6039
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: Eureka, NV USA


Return to MS1/Extra support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest