Parallel Install - Tach signal

All Megasquirt 1 support questions. See also the Documentation

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

rx79gez8gundam
MS/Extra Newbie

Parallel Install - Tach signal

Post by rx79gez8gundam »

I've been using MS-1 for about 9 years now for a fuel-only application on a SBC with large cap HEI and a Mallory Hyfire 6A digital CD ignition box in my '83 Z28. I've recently swapped the drivetrain into my '88 IROC-Z and am attempting a parallel install with the factory LB9 ECU so as to retain stock control of IAC, A/C idle up, trans lockup, and computer controlled spark. The latter is a GM 8-pin HEI in stock trim. Using the "R" pin of the HEI (purple with white stripe, stock ECU tach reference) for MS tach reference did not work, the injectors failed to fire. Instead I switched to the dash gauge tach output, coil - (white wire on coil). This triggered the injectors, but I'm left with no dash tach. I'm running a v 2.2 board, no mods, purchased assembled and stimulated from DIYAutoTune.

To make things more interesting, I have lost all connectivity with the MS unit. This happened before the drivetrain swap, and is a result of the RS-232 driver failing to allow the USB adapter to function. I have yet to find a solution, but as my current tune ran fine before the swap I hope this won't cause more than a minor nuisance with this install. I understand being able to interface would be ideal, but I'm having to forgo that luxury. If anyone can solve this incredibly handicapping problem as well, it would be GREATLY appreciated!

Most importantly, THE CAR DOES CURRENTLY START AND IDLE. I'm looking for answers to 2 issues;
1. Why does splitting the signal from the "R" pin purple/white stripe wire on the HEI not work for me as it should in MS-2 parallel setups?
2. How do I provide my stock dash tach with a signal since I've shanghaied it's input for the MS?