Thermocouple board

A forum for discussing the MegaSquirt related (but non-B&G) board development, assembly, installation, and testing.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby msoultan » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:44 pm

excellent. i'm going to continue this discussion on your forum as I need to know what other I/O boards I'll need so I can interface properly with the MS3. I'm excited to get EGT going!

thanks!
Mike
User avatar
msoultan
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Long Beach, CA - USA

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby TT350chevelle » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:38 am

Where is a good place to buy probes? 8 egt probes could be quit expensive.

Brad J.
Homebuilt twinturbo 68 Chevelle
MS 1, MSNS-Extra, Fuel and Spark.
Full street,3820lbs,10.46@133.66
User avatar
TT350chevelle
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:51 am
Location: Winnipeg,Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby msoultan » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:46 am

Yeah, that can be. I was just gonna go through DIY...
User avatar
msoultan
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Long Beach, CA - USA

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby jsmcortina » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:52 am

Yes, they are expensive, but DIY can price match (when I bought mine anyway) so they are worth using.

I _finally_ installed all of my 8 EGTs last night (outside in the rain) and I'm looking forward to experimenting with them.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK.

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 27622
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby racingmini_mtl » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:38 am

Also, another advantage of the DIY probes is that they have 8-foot leads which is not the case for all probes. This allows you to put the EGT conditioners inside the cabin which is not a bad thing when using screw terminal blocks which are not protected from the elements.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby Tiberius » Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:20 pm

I'm currently trying to build a data logger with arduino. EGT logging is also on my todo list.
Is there any particular reason why you didn't use a multiplexer instead of multiple ad595's? This should drop the price significantly.
I'm also torn between using the ad595 on an analog input and the max6675 on a digital one. The ad is cheaper but the max has integrated cold junction compensation which you'd need to build additionally with the ad.
Does your design incorporate compensation?
Tiberius
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:29 am
Location: Germany

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby Poolside » Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:43 pm

The AD595 has Cold Junction Compensation.
Last edited by Poolside on Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Poolside
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:01 pm
Location: Long Beach CA

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby racingmini_mtl » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:01 pm

As Jim mentions, the AD595 has cold junction compensation and the AD597 used on my board also has it.

And a multiplexer wasn't used because I did not want to put anything but the strict minimum between the probes and the AD597 to get the best results. I haven't even looked at them to see if there are some that are adequate for the type of signal given by an EGT probe. Moreover, there is no code in MS3 for controlling a multiplexer and the I/O extender has plenty of ADC circuits.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby Tiberius » Sat Apr 03, 2010 3:15 am

Thanks I meanwhile got both AD datasheets. Seems for my application the use of the max6657 is the way to go because it can talk SPI directly to the arduino and delivers a higher resolution than arduinos own analog inputs. There's literally nothing else required to operate the TC.
Tiberius
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:29 am
Location: Germany

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby h22 » Sat Apr 03, 2010 6:21 am

nice board, I would be interested .
h22
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 12:05 pm

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby racingmini_mtl » Sun May 23, 2010 2:59 pm

It has taken me much longer to get around to finish the assembly but here it is:
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
(click on the picture for a larger view)

You can see the assembled board and the board besides Canadian quarter to show the size (similar in size to a US quarter). Then you have both sides of the board in the acse with the header and then with the screw terminal plugs. The 6-position side is for 12V, ground and the four 0-5V outputs that will go to the ADC inputs. The 8-position side is for the 4 EGT probes.

I will be putting up a web page shortly where it will be possible to order the boards but if you want one you can contact me directly in the mean time. Initially, the board will be available as an assembled board only or as a completely assembled cased unit with connectors. I may have kits available later but I'm a bit reluctant due to the somewhat tricky assembly.

Jean
Last edited by racingmini_mtl on Mon May 24, 2010 11:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby jsmcortina » Sun May 23, 2010 4:11 pm

Those Phoenix contact screw terminal plugs are good. I've used them before.

James
I can supply, repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK.

My Success story: viewtopic.php?f=104&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
jsmcortina
Site Admin
 
Posts: 27622
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby Poolside » Sun May 23, 2010 5:17 pm

Nice. That Hammond case family is new to me. I like it.

Polycase.com has some good ones too, you can never have enough enclosure sources.

Jim
User avatar
Poolside
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:01 pm
Location: Long Beach CA

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby shortbus » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:04 am

So for 8 egt's I would need two of these?
Or will there be a V8 version?

I am interested in either case. PM me/email me with purchase info please.
shortbus
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:43 am

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby mr2andy » Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:58 am

Is this board still available? :)

racingmini_mtl wrote:It has taken me much longer to get around to finish the assembly but here it is:
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
(click on the picture for a larger view)

You can see the assembled board and the board besides Canadian quarter to show the size (similar in size to a US quarter). Then you have both sides of the board in the acse with the header and then with the screw terminal plugs. The 6-position side is for 12V, ground and the four 0-5V outputs that will go to the ADC inputs. The 8-position side is for the 4 EGT probes.

I will be putting up a web page shortly where it will be possible to order the boards but if you want one you can contact me directly in the mean time. Initially, the board will be available as an assembled board only or as a completely assembled cased unit with connectors. I may have kits available later but I'm a bit reluctant due to the somewhat tricky assembly.

Jean
mr2andy
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:53 am

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby BNZ » Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:09 pm

+1 on availability
MS2 Extra V3 Rel 3.1.1A + Zeal Engineering Board
Celica ST165
3S-GTE 1st gen engine all stock
Using both Zeal conditioners for NE & G1 pickup

MS1 Extra V3 HR11d
Renault 5 GTE Turbo
BNZ
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:18 am
Location: Timisoara/Romania

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby racingmini_mtl » Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:58 pm

The board is available but only as an assembled board without the case or connectors. There wasn't enough interest to justify having them in stock. So you can have an assembled board but you'll need to buy a case and the connectors from an electronics vendor such as Digikey or Mouser and assemble the complete unit which is somewhat tricky.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby bcrx7 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:21 pm

Jean, I don't see the board on your site. How can I order one?
1984 Mazda RX-7 GTM Class (BP Engine + BW-EFR 8374 Turbo Full COP/Sequential on MS3+MS3x)
1986 Toyota 4Runner (22RE running on MS2-Extra 3.2.1)
bcrx7
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby racingmini_mtl » Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:08 pm

bcrx7 wrote:Jean, I don't see the board on your site. How can I order one?

PM sent.

Jean
jbperf.com Main site . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . jbperf.com Forum
Image
racingmini_mtl
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 6405
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Thermocouple board

Postby frank_ster » Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:10 am

i would like one too. i'm in montreal, i could maybe help with case and connector issues.
2005 subaru legacy with buick grandnational engine and awd :D
frank_ster
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:07 am

PreviousNext

Return to Expansion boards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest