Low cost CAN gauge

A forum for discussing the MegaSquirt related (but non-B&G) board development, assembly, installation, and testing.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby NewFoxau2 » Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:42 am

Yeah I figure most people can do their own lighting, but I'm thinking more like an indicator driven by the ECU for example low oil pressure warning light.

I've ordered the board (Cost me $8 plus shipping) and I'm ordering components now. I have an account through Digikey but not Mouser, but it appears the MCU isn't available through Digikey. Maybe I'll have to switch to mouser.

Can I use the evaluation board as a programmer?

This one:

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/e ... ND/2601858

Nate

*edit* looks like Mouser is out of the MCU as well. :(
NewFoxau2
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:12 am

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby NewFoxau2 » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:09 am

In the BOM, you have "VID29-FLIPPED" is that different from a regular VID-29? I use switec motors but they have the same pinout as the VID-29.

Nate
NewFoxau2
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:12 am

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby xrattiracer » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:24 am

no, the eval board wont do you any good as a programmer, you just need a ftdi ft232r serial adapter. you can buy them with the correct 6 pin plug on them already and use the onboard isp and reset buttons, or you can get a universal one (such as the sparkfun one http://www.amazon.com/Breakout-Board-FT ... 768&sr=8-2) and make your own connector with dtr and rts signals connected to control isp and reset (flash magic and lpc21isp support this). the "normal" cables typically have cts in place of rts and wont work for buttonless programming at least.
The Smoothieboard project has some good info on this process that also applies here: http://smoothieware.org/flashing-the-bootloader (just the bootloader section).
I will be glad to help further once you get to that point. I will probably write up some better docs on the process eventually too.
you can probably find the mcu on ebay etc too in a pinch if everybody else is sold out.
xrattiracer
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:25 pm

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby xrattiracer » Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:26 am

NewFoxau2 wrote:In the BOM, you have "VID29-FLIPPED" is that different from a regular VID-29? I use switec motors but they have the same pinout as the VID-29.

Nate

yes, the VID-29 footprint is for the motor that has the shaft going out the same side as the connecting pins. i had originally had holes in the board for the locating dowels on the motor as well, but got to the point where i couldnt spare the board real estate for them so just opted for cutting them off the motor.
xrattiracer
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:25 pm

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby NewFoxau2 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:39 am

It's been a long while since I've posted on here, but I took your design and modified it completely. I now use a Teensy3.2 to pull the data from the MS2, then the Teensy sends out the data over I2C to the individual gauges. It works quite well so far! It still needs some more tweaking but it's getting there!

Here's a video of it:

https://youtu.be/mJOSYgaLThk
NewFoxau2
Helpful MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 7:12 am

Re: Low cost CAN gauge

Postby chips60bug » Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:51 am

Just watched the video. Those are awesome!
chips60bug
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:20 am
Location: Utah, USA

Previous

Return to Expansion boards

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests