DC CDI module

A forum for discussing the MegaSquirt related (but non-B&G) board development, assembly, installation, and testing.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

MS2tester
Master MS/Extra'er

DC CDI module

Post by MS2tester »

i had an idea about a a DC cdi module
but since i am not an electronics engineer i could use some feedback
the design is based on that of sportdevices
it would work in a per cylinder unit so if one fails you should be able to limp home
maybe such a design could also be adapted to drive piezo injectors
dontz125
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: DC CDI module

Post by dontz125 »

I've looked at that afew times, but never built one. If you do a Google search on this design, you'll find mixed reviews - some have had great success, others can't get the weakest spark. There's something funky about it that catches some folks, and I'm not sure what it is.
QuadraMAP Sensor Module -- PWM-to-Stepper Controller -- Dual Coil Driver
Coming soon: OctoMAP Sensor Module
TTR Ignition Systems
MS2tester
Master MS/Extra'er

Post by MS2tester »

i have working module based on a different IC with a 100KHz switch limit
it gave a good spark to about 3000 rpm then it would not build up fast enough
now i had a mercury outboard coil which is designed for 400 volt
yamaha and johson/evinrude coils seem to have a lower initial voltage
the IC in the schematic has a 400 KHz switch limit
i was hoping there would be more people on the megasquirt board with a similar interest preferably with an electronics background
but i guess this is not the case :(
thank you for your response anyway ;)
CTMBol
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by CTMBol »