Open source GPIO alternative for msgpio

A forum for discussing the MegaSquirt related (but non-B&G) board development, assembly, installation, and testing.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

jsdevel
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Open source GPIO alternative for msgpio

Post by jsdevel »

I'm contemplating purchasing the msgpio board from diyautitune. The msgpio.com site sort of scares me. The documentation is a little rough and all the sample code is B&G. I'm a fairly good programmer, but don't have much experience with embedded stuff (I'd like to start though!). They also reference this really old version of CodeWarrior that I can't seem to find online.

Based on what msextra has done, would there be any legal issues with creating an open source project on GitHub that provided a starter GPIO project?
slow_hemi6
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: Open source GPIO alternative for msgpio

Post by slow_hemi6 »

What are you trying to do? have you seen the jbperf tiny iox? Jean is always around here and the product is well known, documented and supported. http://jbperf.com/io_extender/tinyIOx.html
Oh and while I am thinking about it you can also turn a microsquirt into an io box. All the details for that are down the bottom of the manuals section.
Find the Manuals up top under Quick links: Manuals. :RTFM:
Cheers Luke
jsmcortina
Site Admin

Post by jsmcortina »

As mentioned, consider those other options. Other customers have also used microcontrollers from different manufacturers and built their own firmware to send and receive over CAN.