Subaru OEM sensor/actuator specs

Specifications, applications, part numbers, and prices for various OEM fuel injection components.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

seb209726
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Subaru OEM sensor/actuator specs

Post by seb209726 »

Hi

I'm new to megasquirt and to this forum.
I tried to gather as much information as I could before posting this, but didn't find clear cut answers. Do feel free to point me in the right direction if I missed the obvious.

I'm in the planning stages of a MS conversion on a 1999 Impreza GT turbo (GC8 WRX) and didn't find much information about the hardware setup on these cars. I thought that maybe summarizing all the info available to the community about the OEM hardware of these cars on one thread might be a good idea, to reduce the individual time probing, scoping and trying? And if not, answers to my specific car would be much appreciated. I'll add my own findings in a few weeks when I get to the installation stage in any case :)

This is what I got so far, for the Impreza turbo engines. Feel free to correct if I'm wrong or confirm if I'm right. I plan on editing this post along the way to summarize it all.

Injectors:
Hi-Z. 94-98 greys are 440cc, 99-00 yellows are 480cc. Newage yellows are 550cc and not a straight fit, see tpsretard2's reply.

Ignition:
Legacy:
COP with external igniter, can be driven logically by MS (early E20G's, 89-94)
Impreza:
Dual coilpack (wasted spark) on 99-00, believed to be triggered by 5V rather than earthing (dwell time?)
3 wire COP on newage cars, can't be driven logically. (dwell time?)

Coolant temp sensor:
standard Bosch calibration is nearly correct and good enough.

Boost solenoid:
3-way valve on earlier cars, 2-way valves on later ones. Which working frequency?

Idle control:
3 wire PWM until 98 (153Hz?)
6 wire stepper for 99-00 (number of steps?)
3 wire newage ones work at 153Hz, with a minimum duty of 5% and a maximum duty of 90%

Vehicle speed sensor setup