Page 7 of 8

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:13 pm
by sunfield
sunfield wrote:
jsmcortina wrote:See the third post here: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 01#p308151

James
The upload went well. The tar created the directory d:/usr/.... In the usr/bin the are a lot of variations of m68hc11-elf-....... But the file I expected m68hc11-elf-gcc has the extention .exe and there is no one named without extention. What am I doing wrong?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 10 met Tapatalk
Who can help me without the following "fout" = error 127

Image

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 10 met Tapatalk

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:43 pm
by racingmini_mtl
I think there are issues with cygwin64. You need to use the 32-bit version. I know that's what I'm using and it works. And there are posts from last year that say the same thing.

Jean

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:18 pm
by sunfield
racingmini_mtl wrote:I think there are issues with cygwin64. You need to use the 32-bit version. I know that's what I'm using and it works. And there are posts from last year that say the same thing.

Jean
@jean, 32 bit version is working without problemen. Thanks

Verstuurd vanaf mijn Nexus 10 met Tapatalk

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:44 am
by sunfield
I am using table switching Patrol and LPG. The are some tricks to connect the thermo sensor to the ground for LPG by hardware. Who can help me to do this by software. I need some support where to change and which signals

Verstuurd vanaf mijn S30 met Tapatalk

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:49 pm
by jsdevel
http://www.msextra.com/tools/ is great. The version of gcc is pretty out of date. Has anyone tried using the latest version of gcc? I like to keep my system managed by dnf as much as possible which is why I ask.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 2:16 am
by jsmcortina
This is the latest version of gcc for s12.

James

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:09 am
by jsdevel
Got it. Thanks James!

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:34 pm
by jsdevel
Actually, I realized that I could probably bundle those tools up into a docker container. Then I could run a simple docker command. I'll post back once I have that working.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:44 pm
by jsdevel
I was able to create a .s19 from the ms2extra source with docker!

Here's the Dockerfile I used:
FROM fedora:26

RUN dnf install -y wget
RUN wget -q -O freescale-tools.tgz http://www.msextra.com/tools/s12buildto ... -24.tar.gz
RUN tar --strip-components=1 -zxf freescale-tools.tgz
RUN tar -zxf tools.tar.gz
RUN dnf install -y make which
ENV PATH="/usr/bin:${PATH}"
RUN dnf install -y glibc.i686
RUN dnf install -y zlib.i686
VOLUME ["/host"]
WORKDIR /host
In the directory I had my Dockerfile in I did this:
docker build -t freescale-tools .
After changing BINDIR to /usr/bin/ in the Makefile, I ran the following commands in my ms2extra directory:
docker run --privileged -v $PWD:/host freescale-tools make
docker run --privileged -v $PWD:/host freescale-tools chmod -R `id -u`:`id -u` .
And voila! megasquirt2.s19 was in my current directory!

I like this approach as I don't have to muck with / on my system.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:45 pm
by jsdevel
I'll also add that I loaded the .s19 file to my MS2 and it worked flawlessly.

James, would it be possible to include that Dockerfile in with the sources? Or would it violate the license if I published that Dockerfile as an image on dockerhub? It would be cool if `msextra-tools` were up on the hub.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 3:41 am
by jsmcortina
I'm not sure I understand the purpose of this 'docker' ?

The MS2/Extra build is fairly simple driven by a Makefile. If you have a different tools path, you can edit the Makefile and set your paths in the PROGPREF line.

James

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:30 pm
by jsdevel
Yea, the Makefile is indeed pretty straight forward. I like using docker containers because I can avoid installing tools in global paths. Docker commands are run in a container, and containers are like light weight VMs.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:48 am
by jsdevel
Just stumbled upon this site and thought I'd share. Lots of relevant info: http://www.seattlerobotics.org/encoder/ ... ncoder.htm

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 6:03 pm
by ol boy
When running the "make release" in cygwin does it spit out how much ram and flash the new .s19 file uses?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 3:06 am
by jsmcortina
ol boy wrote:When running the "make release" in cygwin does it spit out how much ram and flash the new .s19 file uses?
Take a look in the top of the *.dmp for the flash section usage, you'll need to cross reference memory.x also. Variable allocation in RAM you can find in the *.map file, but that doesn't tell you the required stack space.

James

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:08 am
by EnergeticMotorsports
well i am keep getting an error
$ make release
-bash: make: command not found

I have windows 10 and the latest 32bit cygwin and i have thes12buildtools-win32-2012-10-24 extracted and it is in the C:/cygwin/usr/bin folder

m68hc11-elf-gcc is in the folder when i checked

I included a screen shot of the issue. lol not sure where i went wrong.

I have folder that the files to be compiled are C:/cygwin/trans

i did " cd C:/cygwin/trans " and then i typed "make release". I know im doing it wrong lol

Thanks apparently i'm challenged. lol

Nelson

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:34 am
by jsmcortina
When you installed cygwin, did you select the package that includes "make" ?
I'm guessing that command would normally be in /usr/bin

James

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:43 am
by EnergeticMotorsports
nope.lol that makes sense.lol :D

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:52 am
by EnergeticMotorsports
I think i found the package I believe it is just make package. ill install this one.

Re: MS2 development/coding for dummies

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 12:27 pm
by EnergeticMotorsports
Looks like the make command works i get a error 127 when compiling using non edited firmware. guessing i need to adjust make file. i was just testing Thanks for help!