Page 1 of 1

Idle advance settings for Alpha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:57 am
by Sellig78
Hi!

I'd like to use the idle advance strategy on my car but i'm using Alpha-N. I can't put a minimun threshold of engine load as on my dataloggs the values are under 0.
Is there any possibility to disable the load threshold or put negatives values?

Thinks.

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:21 am
by Matt Cramer
It sounds like you need to set a lower closed ADC count for your TPS calibration.

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:47 am
by Sellig78
Matt,

I don't understand the link with my close ADC, i used the calibration tool in TS for my throttle and give me a value of 125. I'm looking for the engine load formula to understand but don't have sucess to found it, could you explain me?

Thinks.

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:28 am
by Matt Cramer
Engine load is % throttle opening in alpha-N. If it is going negative, you need to fix your TPS calibration.

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:55 pm
by mariob
If it just goes to -0.2% or so, you can leave the calibration as it is. Even if you get values of -2% or similar, you can use a threshold value of 0% and live with the small blip when leaving the throttle.

If you need to recalibrate your TPS, you will need to correct the lower part of the VE table.

Best Regards, Mario

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 2:32 am
by Sellig78
Ok so i just put 0 in the load threshold and the idle advance strategy doesn't care if the engine load goes under.

Thinks guys!

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:42 pm
by Peter Florance
Sellig78 wrote:Ok so i just put 0 in the load threshold and the idle advance strategy doesn't care if the engine load goes under.

Thinks guys!
I'm not sure this really works; this alpha-n MS2Extra3.2.1release on microsquirt module

Idle advance is set to 15 degrees

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 2:58 pm
by Peter Florance
Playing with it some more, maybe it would be better if the load comparison was removed for Alpha-N setups.

Re: Idle advcance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:08 pm
by Peter Florance
if (flash8.idle_special_ops & IDLE_SPECIAL_OPS_IDLEADVANCE) {
if ((outpc.tps < flash8.idleadvance_tps) &&
(outpc.rpm < flash8.idleadvance_rpm) &&
(outpc.fuelload > flash8.idleadvance_load) &&
(outpc.clt > flash8.idleadvance_clt)) {
if((idle_advance_timer >= flash8.idleadvance_delay) &&
(flagbyte4 & flagbyte4_idleadvreset)) {
/* deg x 10 */
lsum = intrp_1ditable(outpc.fuelload, 4, (int *)pg8_ptr->idleadvance_loads, 1,
(int *)pg8_ptr->idleadvance_curve);
} else {
if (!(flagbyte4 &flagbyte4_idleadvreset)) {
DISABLE_INTERRUPTS;
idle_advance_timer = 0;
ENABLE_INTERRUPTS;
flagbyte4 |= flagbyte4_idleadvreset;
}
}
} else {
flagbyte4 &= ~flagbyte4_idleadvreset;
}
}


In Alpha-N this seems problematic because for me fuelload is TPS.

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:27 am
by Sellig78
I agree with you Peter i still don't have success with the idle advance strategy with alpha-N, even with the load threshold at 0.

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:36 am
by Peter Florance
Sellig78 wrote:I agree with you Peter i still don't have success with the idle advance strategy with alpha-N, even with the load threshold at 0.
I got it to work on the stim for a very narrow range of throttle inputs but only if I improperly calibrated the TPS to allow negative values.

I'm going to see what happens if I change the ini file to allow negative value for Idle Advance Minimum Fuel Load. I have no hope of my modifying the code as I don't know how to eliminate one of the comparisons in the case of Alpha N

Thanks for fixing the spelling in the subject to make it easier to find via search, too!

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 6:02 am
by Peter Florance
Ok modifying the ini file to allow negative values for min fuel load works.

Not pretty but it works.

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:35 pm
by gslender
In the later code releases I added an option for idle advance to enable when it goes into CL-Idle....and this options ignores all the other conditions and uses the same condition the idle code uses (which isn't load based etc).

Also, you get the adaptive advance based on rpm target which I believe is much superior.

Try that hey?

G

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:41 pm
by Peter Florance
gslender wrote:In the later code releases I added an option for idle advance to enable when it goes into CL-Idle....and this options ignores all the other conditions and uses the same condition the idle code uses (which isn't load based etc).

Also, you get the adaptive advance based on rpm target which I believe is much superior.

Try that hey?

G
Sounds like a plan.
Does it matter that the car has no idle valve?

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:50 pm
by gslender
Peter Florance wrote:
gslender wrote:In the later code releases I added an option for idle advance to enable when it goes into CL-Idle....and this options ignores all the other conditions and uses the same condition the idle code uses (which isn't load based etc).

Also, you get the adaptive advance based on rpm target which I believe is much superior.

Try that hey?

G
Sounds like a plan.
Does it matter that the car has no idle valve?
Well kinda as it relies on the CL-idle code running, so you do have to configure it so etc. not sure what that means really as its point is to control the idle valve and if none exist it will be just trying to control nothing.

G

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:57 pm
by Peter Florance
gslender wrote:
Peter Florance wrote:
gslender wrote:In the later code releases I added an option for idle advance to enable when it goes into CL-Idle....and this options ignores all the other conditions and uses the same condition the idle code uses (which isn't load based etc).

Also, you get the adaptive advance based on rpm target which I believe is much superior.

Try that hey?

G
Sounds like a plan.
Does it matter that the car has no idle valve?
Well kinda as it relies on the CL-idle code running, so you do have to configure it so etc. not sure what that means really as its point is to control the idle valve and if none exist it will be just trying to control nothing.

G
I'll leave a bucket to collect all the unused PWM....
:)

Thanks

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:09 pm
by gslender
Peter Florance wrote: I'll leave a bucket to collect all the unused PWM....
:)

Thanks
Actually, you only need an drain tube directly to the road. The ms2 makes pwm freely and doesn't need to be topped up or replenished :lol:

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:56 am
by Sellig78
Ok so i will try your code G.

Thanks.

Re: Idle advance settings for Aplha-N

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 3:51 am
by Peter Florance
gslender wrote:
Peter Florance wrote: I'll leave a bucket to collect all the unused PWM....
:)

Thanks
Actually, you only need an drain tube directly to the road. The ms2 makes pwm freely and doesn't need to be topped up or replenished :lol:
seems MS3 does too; that is the black stain under my car every morning. :lol: