How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

This is a forum for discussing the development and testing of alpha MS2/Extra code. Documentation
(Runs on MS2 and Microsquirt)

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Post Reply
phoenix3d
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: South Africa

How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by phoenix3d »

Hi James and the Code Gods!!..

I Need to know If possible (With your Expertise) How do I keep "FIdle" available for running an MP9 Throttle body for Warmup/Closed Loop Idle
and Running 1 Stage of Nitrous.

As Nitrous Controller Ties up FIdle and WLED even if you are running 1 Stage Nitrous.

Would it be possible to use ALED & WLED as another option? as we've already routed Fidle to the throttle control.

PTC6 & PTC7 are already Used in Sequential Injection.

(BTW Were running uS Module - but i think the firmware is the sane here across the range... I stand corrected.)

Kindest Regards
Phoenix
dontz125
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 4221
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: York, ON
Contact:

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by dontz125 »

Unfortunately, FIdle is the only pin in any of the MS2 code family to allow PWM idle, and there is no way (other than modifying the code yourself) to switch the Nitrous1 duty to another pin. Incidentally, you DO still have WLED available for other options; if 'Second Stage Nitrous' is not selected, the pin isn't allocated.

What you could do is buy one of jbperf's IOx or TinyIOx boards, and run the Nitrous1 output as a remote (CAN) function. See my post here for more info on the pin allocation.
Temporarily shut down - back soon!
QuadraMAP Sensor Module -- PWM-to-Stepper Controller -- Dual Coil Driver
Coming soon: OctoMAP Sensor Module
TTR Ignition Systems
phoenix3d
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by phoenix3d »

Hi Dontz...
Cheers for the reply...

I am more than willing to try my hand at tweaking the code..

The owner isn't willing to wait for another imported part... unfortunately.. (Around 3 months for anything to arrive with a ridiculous Exchange Rate :oops: )

Is there any way to swap out Fidle to ALED output in the code? As that port is still available but not selectable.
so effectively being ALED/WLED for Nitrous output.

Step by step on what to change would be awesome...

Kindest Regards
dontz125
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 4221
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: York, ON
Contact:

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by dontz125 »

Sorry, I'm not the guy to ask about coding.
Temporarily shut down - back soon!
QuadraMAP Sensor Module -- PWM-to-Stepper Controller -- Dual Coil Driver
Coming soon: OctoMAP Sensor Module
TTR Ignition Systems
phoenix3d
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by phoenix3d »

Cheers.. No Problem I understand..;-)


JAMES ????........ Anybody ????... HELP PLEASE????????

Any help would be Appreciated...

So effectively if it would be possible to swap Fidle=Stage1 / Wled = Stage2 outputs
to something like Wled = Stage1 / Fidle = Stage2 that would leave Fidle re-selectable as we arent using Stage2 Nos (Yet)?
phoenix3d
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by phoenix3d »

Ok...

So I went into the code and swapped the Fidel & wled outputs around.

Now at least we can still use a fast idle valve to keep the motor idling and 1 stage of nitrous.

I don't understand why this doesn't seem to be an issue?

As aled is also normally available but sitting on its lonesome.

Phoenix3d
dontz125
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 4221
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: York, ON
Contact:

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by dontz125 »

Is it really as simple as swapping FIDLE (0x04) and D15 (0x20)?

Code: Select all

if (flash10.N2Oopt_pins & 0x10) { // FIDLE + D15
                        // stage 1
                        if (outpc.status2 & status2_nitrous1) {
                            PORTM |= 0x04; // turn on FIDLE
                        } else {
                            PORTM &= ~0x04; // turn off
                        }

                        if (flash10.N2Oopt & 0x08) {
                            // stage 2
                            if (outpc.status2 & status2_nitrous2) {
                                PORTM |= 0x20; // turn on D15
                            } else {
                                PORTM &= ~0x20; // turn off
                            }
                        }
If this is correct, then ALED should be 0x10 ...
Temporarily shut down - back soon!
QuadraMAP Sensor Module -- PWM-to-Stepper Controller -- Dual Coil Driver
Coming soon: OctoMAP Sensor Module
TTR Ignition Systems
phoenix3d
Experienced MS/Extra'er
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: How to keep FIdle available when using Nitrous?

Post by phoenix3d »

As far as I can remember...

Yep that's what i did... And it worked... :shock:

Please note!!. I am by no means a Coder... Took me about 2 days to sort of figure it out.. tried it and.....

Seemed to work.

BUT PLEASE.... THE CODERS like James and Ken would be able to say if it would work..

Albeit I had to change the .INI file for TS to display the correct order as well.. :oops:

Gordon.
Post Reply