Megasquirt II and two throttle bodies??

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

t/abossfan
MS/Extra Newbie

Megasquirt II and two throttle bodies??

Post by t/abossfan »

Newbie here so be kind.

I will cut to the chase,

The build up I am planning will include two 4-barrel universal throttle bodies (leaning towards the accufab units). I will be using an old tunnel ram intake modified with injector bungs. I would assume the TPS units would not be a problem, I could run one as the throttle bodies are linked mechanically (correct me if I am wrong). What about the IAC valves/motors? Can two IAC valves be wired in and operate properly?

Thank you for your responses in advance.
t/abossfan
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by t/abossfan »

Lance,

Thank you for your response. I should also clarify that I will not be using the top piece of the tunnel ram intake that connects the front and rear carburetor air paths (on a v8 engine). The front throttle body will provide air for the front 4 cylinders and the rear throttle body provides for the back 4 cylinders without any airpath cross over/ connection between the two. Correct me if I am wrong but won't both IACs need to be operating? I haven't purchased the throttle bodies but two will be $$$$. I would like to know in advance if this is possible or just a fantasy.

Thanks again,

t/abossfan
eliotmansfield
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Post by eliotmansfield »

Remember you need a vacuum source also, sounds like you will need to make a t-piece between the two tb's. If you made a slightly bigger link between the two, say 1/2" you may be able to use one IAC setup.

i think driving two iac's will be tricky, unless you can do a simple open/closed solenoid setup.
Eliot Mansfield
5.7L Twin Turbo Dakar 4x4.
www.mez.co.uk
GotDart
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by GotDart »