dual plenum build

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

HADLEY
MS/Extra Newbie

dual plenum build

Post by HADLEY »

i am fairly new to it all but i have some questions on a manifold build. i don't have a engine or anything like that, most of this comes from "what if" questions i have. maybe it will answer other people's questions.

i was wondering if i was to build a manifold with two separate plenums(each plenum for a single cylinder head on a V8) both containing a throttle body and four intake runners, what conflicts would i run it to?

would i need a MAP sensor for both plenums?

Would i need a TPS for both throttle bodies?

is there an advantage to having two plenums and/or throttle bodies?

i have read that having a real large throttle body makes drive-ability poor due to the quick change off air flow, would dividing the large throttle body into two smaller throttle bodies help with this problem.

could there be a problem with the placing of the throttle body on the plenum? (IE: would it be better for the throttle body to be place in a centralized part of the plenum or could it be at the end)

i don't really need direct answers to my questions, since they are mostly "what if" questions. a link that that goes more in-depth into the design of efi manifolds would be more helpful since it is more of a learning situation than a direct application.

thanks in advance to replies
Uncle Bob
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Post by Uncle Bob »

as far as advantages to two seperate intakes, no there is no advantages. Some do it for the novelty factor.