Tuning fuel pressure regulator

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

johnhup
MS/Extra Newbie

Tuning fuel pressure regulator

Post by johnhup »

As many of you will be able to tell from this post, I am new to fuel injection. I have collected almost all of the necessary parts and getting ready for installation. My final question is how do I know what my fuel pressure regulator is set at?

I have seen many different types of pressure gauges but I am just not sure which one to get and how to use it exactly. My thought would be that I would have to measure the pressure right before the regulator with some type of T adapter?

Can anyone help clarify my situation?
1973 Polaris Silver BMW 2002
------------------------------------------
M10 2.0 Litre | SOHC 278 degree cam
9.5:1 tii cast pistons | tii header | Crane XR700
woh
Super MS/Extra'er

Post by woh »

Here is a link to some pressure gauges.
http://www.davis.com/showpage.asp?L3ID=1275

You will have to provide a T or some other means to connect the pressure gauge between the fuel pump and the fuel regulator.
Minami Kotaro
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Post by Minami Kotaro »

You can get a cheap, 0-100 psi gauge with 1/8 NPT threads at almost any store that sells air tools and/or compressors. Setting up a T or some other means of plumbing it into your fuel system shouldn't be hard.

I'm lucky in that my fuel rails have 1/8 NPT ports on them already.
1967 VW Beetle
2276 cc
v3.57 board, MSNS-e 029v, EDIS
Check out my ongoing story.
MattKab
MS/Extra Newbie

Post by MattKab »

I also am a newb loosing sleep over fuel pressure :D Waiting for the penny to drop.

I'm closing in on running my T4 Beetle engine, it will happen this summer.