New to MegaSquirt, '89 Subaru XT6

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Caboobaroo
MS/Extra Newbie

New to MegaSquirt, '89 Subaru XT6

Post by Caboobaroo »

Hello everyone. I have started to collect parts to run the MS2 on my 1989 Subaru XT6 and figure now would be a good time to post. I've been lurking for a year or so, searching out information and have gotten a pretty good understanding. I am also a professional Subaru mechanic so turning a wrench isn't a new thing to me.

I knew the guy who had done a MS swap on his '87 RX (posted on DIYAutotune's sight) and I know he was having some tuning issues with using the stock distributor, like this other post that recently has been started.
http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 94&t=52871

I've decided to ditch the factory distributor for the time being and run a Ford EDIS6 which I have gotten from a local wrecking yard. Also, looking at the factory service manual for the car, the IAC appears to be a PWM as well.

I know I have questions but I need to get the MS2 kit first so I can sort out how it needs to be built. Already have the Stim kit built and bought a new soldering iron and quality solder.

I'm excited to get it together and working in the car. I think my wife is a little tired of hearing about it :roll: :lol:
Subaru_EA82_4EAT_AWD
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Re: New to MegaSquirt, '89 Subaru XT6

Post by Subaru_EA82_4EAT_AWD »

What are you going to use for a CAS?

I think the ER27 have shorter inner slots than the EA82, I bet one of the existing Nissan decoders would work already...
The ER's have the benefit of having a proper IAC valve as you said.