I'm a newbie, planning a MS chevy 292

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

jesdude
MS/Extra Newbie

I'm a newbie, planning a MS chevy 292

Post by jesdude »

Hello everyone,
Thanks for taking the time to read this and I appreciate any advice that is given. I am excited to learn and apply what I have learned to my projects!
I have been looking into Megasquirt products for over a year now but have yet to purchase anything for my project. I have a 1953 Chevy club coupe and I will be installing a chevy 292 inline six cylinder engine and either a 700-r4 or a 4l60e transmission. I believe I am leaning toward the 4l60e because it would get rid of the TV cable that the 700r4 uses and keep the engine bay as clean as possible and reduce the number of cables and brackets hanging off my intake. My engine has siamese intake runners and so I know that I want to start with adapting a GM tbi injection to my intake and use the stock type injectors that it comes with. I may install individual injector for each of the 3 intake runners someday but not for a long time if ever. I also have a stock distributor that has a Pertronix conversion kit installed. I will probably try to run the car's stock gauges at first but add auxiliary gauges as needed that can be hidden somewhere until they are needed. From what I have read so far, It seems to me that the ms3 with the v3.57 would be the best fit for me and allow the easiest expansion in the future and be easily hooked up to my modern laptop and android tablet if needed. I thought I would like to build the board myself at one point but I have changed my mind on that in hopes that I reduce any problem later down the road. What do you guys think?
Matt Cramer
Super MS/Extra'er

Re: I'm a newbie, planning a MS chevy 292

Post by Matt Cramer »