Hi, newbie here...

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

mowersman
MS/Extra Newbie

Hi, newbie here...

Post by mowersman »

Hello all
I've been playing with engines and all things mechanical for far too long now, and have recently plucked up the courage to start having a play with megasquirt, having known about it for several years now.
My interest is classic Land Rovers, my daily drive is a 1965 short wheel base one with a diesel :o , but for some time now I've been planning on building a turbocharged, injected version of the 2.5 4 pot petrol, as they are based on the diesel and massively over engineered. I've got the engine its self built up, ready to fit the fuel system to, so I bit the bullet the other day and bought a V3 Microsquirt, pre owned, but unused.
This brings me to my first problem, I'm afraid.
I have got the Microsquirt on my desk, with the loom plugged it, grounds and +12Vdc connected up, from a well charged battery. 2.5mm jack to serial cable plugged in and the serial cable plugged into a FTDI based USB to serial converter.
Nothing. The drivers are installed and the computer recognizes the converter, but what ever I do, Tunerstudio will not detect the Microsquirt. I have gone through device manager and changed all the settings, no joy. I have gone through the MS2 setting up guide, manually putting in my firmware version into Tunerstudio, then going into communications - Settings - Test port, but getting failed each time.