Megasquirt economy

A general forum and a place for initial or prospective users. See Manuals/Documentation
Click here to enter
Contact a Forum Administrator
If unsure where to post, post in this sub-forum.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

nibaru
MS/Extra Newbie

Megasquirt economy

Post by nibaru »

I am a complete novice with this, although I do have a basic understanding of engines, I have very little understanding of the electronics. : :roll: I have a 1980 golf mk1 with 1588cc Gti engine (EG) This engine has the first mechanical fuel injection system fitted to a production car? It does not have an ECU, knock sensor, throttle position sensor and only the very basic of cold start systems.

My golf is listed as returning 38.7/30 .4/23.3 although I recently returned 34.5mpg over a motorway run (although with an hour of stop start delays) at 70-85 mph probably with median average of 75mph. The modern equivalent of the golf mk1 (size and weight) would be a polo which returns 68.9/58.9/47.1 (although with a 32% more powerful 12% smaller turbocharged engine!)

This modern engine is 78%/94%/102% more efficient than 27 years ago!

Where I am coming from is how much of this improvement is due to the engine controls? :?:

:idea: If I fit a megasquirt system to my old 1980 engine, will this improve mpg and give me the efficiency somewhere near the modern engine? :?:

If so, what would I have to do and what would it cost? :?:

I realise that a chunk of the efficiency will come from the forced induction, does anybody know how much? :?:

If I was to turbocharge my engine, Does anybody have an idea how much it could improve the efficiency? :?: ( I know where there is a turbo kit at the moment)

I would greatly appreciate any comments :yeah!:

(what's an msq and datalog? ) :oops:
Spiffy
Helpful MS/Extra'er

Re: Megasquirt economy

Post by Spiffy »

No, you will not get as efficient an engine as the new polo.