Page 1 of 1

Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:55 pm
by MD64
I have an MS-1 V3.0 running MSExtra, wired to an Innovate MTX-L wideband O2 sensor and gauge. I wired the yellow wire from the MTX-L to the Megasquirt's O2 input, and both units are grounded at the same spot. I set the O2 sensor type to be wideband in Megatune and set the voltage at 14.7 AFR to be 2.5v. While the MTX-L's gauge works fine and displays reasonable numbers, Megatune's gauge is completely off. Megatune seems to be displaying erratic numbers that have no correlation to the wideband's readings. Does anyone have any ideas white might be going wrong?

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:06 pm
by kjones6039
MD64 wrote:I have an MS-1 V3.0 running MSExtra, wired to an Innovate MTX-L wideband O2 sensor and gauge. I wired the yellow wire from the MTX-L to the Megasquirt's O2 input, and both units are grounded at the same spot. I set the O2 sensor type to be wideband in Megatune and set the voltage at 14.7 AFR to be 2.5v. While the MTX-L's gauge works fine and displays reasonable numbers, Megatune's gauge is completely off. Megatune seems to be displaying erratic numbers that have no correlation to the wideband's readings. Does anyone have any ideas white might be going wrong?


I don't see in your narrative where you calibrated your WB in MT.......

Speaking of MT.......... Why not TS? MT is obsolete and no longer supported.

Ken

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:32 pm
by MD64
I didn't find a calibration function in Megatune. Is there a specific version of Tunerstudio that is made for MS1 extra (like the specific version of Megasquirt made for MS1 Extra) or is there one program for all Megasquirt versions and code?

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 5:24 am
by LT401Vette
There are no special versions of either TunerStudio or MegaTune for any specific version of MegaSquirt. Due to the more complicated setup in Megatune, a an installer with an MS1 project was put together. For TunerStudio just download the latest and go through the New Project wizard and it will set it self up for the MS1.

As for Calibration, that is an MS2 & MS3 thing. With MS1 it works in raw ADC values and the tuning app converts them to user readable values.
In TunerStudio, you select your WB sensor in the Project Properties on the Settings tab. New WB sensors are still being added for MS1 with TunerStudio, so if what you need isn't there let me know.

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:29 pm
by ohecht
I have a related issue I hope someone can help with...I'm running ms3 v3.57 and an MTX-L.

The MTX has been in the car along with MS for 6 months with no issues and everything was working fine up until today. Now the afr reading in TS is stuck at 25.5 and not moving...the readings on the MTX appear correct.

All I did today was change from a 4-wire IAC valve to a 2-wire PWM valve using the FIdle pin on the main connector. Even after that change, the AFR was reading fine during the time I was calibrating the new idle valve...about an hour of idling. It was only when I finally went for a test drive and tried to use VE Analyze Live that I noticed the AFR reading in TS was wrong and not changing. I checked all the MTX wiring, which I didn't touch during the idle valve work, and it appears fine. I have not yet had a chance to verify voltages, etc. I connected to the MTX and everything there appears fine as well.

Other than the output from the MTX to MS just suddenly breaking, I'm not sure what it could be.

Thanks in advance.

Olivier

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 9:50 pm
by LT401Vette
Have you tried really calibrating the AFR from ubder the tools menu?
you did not say what firmware or ms type you have though

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:27 pm
by ohecht
I will try that, thanks. I'm using MS3 and the MTX firmware is 1.03.

I was actually trying to check for a firmware update to the MTX today, but couldn't find it on the Innovate website...I only saw firmware for other products and even tried a few of those with no luck.

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:25 am
by LT401Vette
Also check the voltage on the O2 pin, see where that is and if it is moving.
I was referring to the firmware version of the MS, more than the MTX. If your voltage on your O2 pin is reading moving and your gauge is not, then the MTX is putting out a signal that should moving.

The odd thing is, your AFR gauge should never be able to read 25.5. 21.39:1 is 5 volts which is the maximum for the O2 pin and the maximum the calibration should be able to achieve.

Re: Wideband Reading is Wrong in Megatune

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:38 pm
by ohecht
I finally got a chance to check the calibration, and it looks like it was gone...I didn't know that could happen. I re-calibrated the AFR and its working again...thanks again for the help and ideas.