MS1 V3.0 no rpm

All Megasquirt 1 support questions. See also the Documentation

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

MS1 V3.0 no rpm

Postby Rich Woods » Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:20 am

Hi Gents,

Sorry to be a pain, but I seem to have run into a problem, I was hoping I may find some help?

I've been building a MS1 V3.0 from a kit, and I've built it to use a VR sensor. I got all the way through to the end of build, then hit a snag. While I can get all the other guages to show readings, I can't get any RPM to show in Megatune or Tunerstudio when trying to get it to work off the stimulator. My stim is a MegaStim V2.21.

The troubleshooting guides don't show too many checks for this other than where the jumpers are supposed to go for the VR sensor, which isn't really helpful. Does anyone know what checks I can do against which components/pins (or point me to a guide) so I can find the problem and crack on with my build? I deally voltages at pins so I can find what is wrong.

As mentioned, it is MS1, version 3.0 and it has loaded the MSExtra 029y4 code.

This is my first megasquirt build, so apologies if I there are any daft questions. I'm still learning.

Kind regards,

Rich
Rich Woods
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MS1 V3.0 no rpm

Postby damon308 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:47 pm

Rich Woods wrote:Hi Gents,

Sorry to be a pain, but I seem to have run into a problem, I was hoping I may find some help?

I've been building a MS1 V3.0 from a kit, and I've built it to use a VR sensor. I got all the way through to the end of build, then hit a snag. While I can get all the other guages to show readings, I can't get any RPM to show in Megatune or Tunerstudio when trying to get it to work off the stimulator. My stim is a MegaStim V2.21.

The troubleshooting guides don't show too many checks for this other than where the jumpers are supposed to go for the VR sensor, which isn't really helpful. Does anyone know what checks I can do against which components/pins (or point me to a guide) so I can find the problem and crack on with my build? I deally voltages at pins so I can find what is wrong.

As mentioned, it is MS1, version 3.0 and it has loaded the MSExtra 029y4 code.

This is my first megasquirt build, so apologies if I there are any daft questions. I'm still learning.

Kind regards,

Rich



Hi Rich, have you checked under SPARK that Stim for Wheel is set to on, and this needs to be set OFF when on car OK, Regards DM
damon308
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:36 am

Re: MS1 V3.0 no rpm

Postby Rich Woods » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:00 pm

Hi DM,

Yes, I have tried it with stim for wheel set to 'on'. Still no response from RPM gauge..

Cheers,

Rich
Rich Woods
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:04 am

Re: MS1 V3.0 no rpm

Postby damon308 » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:21 am

Rich Woods wrote:Hi DM,

Yes, I have tried it with stim for wheel set to 'on'. Still no response from RPM gauge..

Cheers,

Rich


Hi Rich, then have you tried turning the small pot R56 on the bottom of the Board, I always tell people to turn it at least 10 turns anti-clockwise first then try cranking and if still no RPM then slowly turn clockwise as you crank watching your RPM, OK, Regards DM
damon308
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:36 am

Re: MS1 V3.0 no rpm

Postby Rich Woods » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:04 am

Hi DM,

I've not had it near the car yet as I couldn't get a response from the stim. The trim pot (R56) is turned anticlockwise, I'll try it again on the stim turning it clockwise.

If I get nothing, I'll set to and get the install sorted on the car, then try it on there.

Rich
Rich Woods
MS/Extra Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:04 am


Return to MS1/Extra support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests