Composite log?

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Fri May 11, 2012 12:23 pm

If you aren't even seeing 0's...

Maybe we should get a comm debug log to see the raw data.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8293
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 12:33 pm

Ok, is this something that is automatically logged or.... what do i do to get this?
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Fri May 11, 2012 12:38 pm

You need to turn on "Comm Debug" under the communications menu.

Then all the comm data is logged to the TunerStudioAppDebug.txt

that file will grow quickly though, so you would likely want to delete the TunerStudioAppDebug, then go straight in and start the Composite log, it would also be a good idea to turn your Data rate down to 1 read / sec so the log doesn't fill with runtime data.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8293
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 12:57 pm

ok, i think i did this right......
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Re: Composite log?

Postby LT401Vette » Fri May 11, 2012 1:31 pm

The log looks good.

How long did you wait before you clicked stop?

It looks as thought the command to start logging was sent fine, the controller responded with 1024 0's as expected.

But in the following runtime data the T-Log flag was never set to indicate the controller had filled the page. If that never gets set, you are dependent on the TunerStudio timeout, after 10 seconds TunerStudio will read the page to get what ever is there. I don't see that timeout read in the log. It seems it was stopped.

Try turning on the power to the car, connect with TS and start the composite logger. Then don't be in any rush to crank, wait 10-15 seconds. Then try cranking, when you stop cranking wait a good 15 seconds before stopping the logger for the timeout read to pull what is there.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 8293
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Composite log?

Postby JAM » Fri May 11, 2012 2:39 pm

Ok, this is what i was getting to work:

start TS,
click capture log check box (title file and save dialog box)
start log button
wait 15 seconds
crank
wait until something shows up on the screen (could be 10 or more seconds)
close

If i would repeat this exact process while remaining in the screen it would not log, i had to go out of the software and come back in. I wonder if it had something to do with the amount of time that had past, maybe i did not need the delay after starting the log? It does seem to me that i had to hit the capture button prior to starting the log.

thanks for the help, I really like this software!
"The only thing you can buy at Jegs is the same thing everybody else has"
http://www.msruns.com/viewtopic.php?f=97&t=23284
JAM
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 7:58 pm
Location: Cincinatti,OH

Previous

Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests