Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

General support questions and announcements for MS3. See also MS3 manuals.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

Post Reply
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by David_G »

Hi,

My car has a vac-referenced pressure regulator and a "gauge style" sensor (referenced to atmospheric).

I made a custom.ini so the fuel pressure gauge is not only reading the raw pressure in kPa but directly displaying the differential fuel pressure across the injectors in bar instead of kPa.
I came up with the following code:

Code: Select all

[OutputChannels]

    Fuelpressure = { (sensor03 - map + barometer) / 100 }
where sensor03 is set as my Fuel-pressure sensor in generic sensor inputs.

However I just found out, that TunerStudio has implemented that gauge already, so creating the custom.ini actually was unnecessary.
The thing though is, that my selfmade gauge is showing different values than the one already implemented in TS.

I altered my formula until the two values matched and this is what I came up with:

Code: Select all

[OutputChannels]

    Fuelpressure = { (sensor03 - map + barometer) / 101.35 }
Can somebody explain to my why the conversion from kPa to bar would be done by dividing by 101.35 instead of 100 ?
1 bar = 10^5 Pa = 100kPa

So why 101.35? Seems to me that this is wrong in TS?

Thanks, David
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by David_G »

Any input on this?
I guess the 101.35 come from some reference to sea level. But that should'nt be a division and it also would'nt make sense to refer Fuel pressure to sea level.
When setting the gauge to display kPa units, there is no such sea-level reference...
ol boy
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 1532
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:06 am
Location: Tucson, Az

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by ol boy »

Each bar is 101.35 worth of kpa at sea level. Using baro for your current altitude helps reference the math then gets divided by 101.35.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
306 SBFord, Torquer II EFI intake, 60 lbs injectors, 8 LS2 coils, VS Racing 7668 turbo, 4R70W, MS3x fw1.4 w/built in trans controller.
slow_hemi6
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 4122
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 3:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by slow_hemi6 »

ol boy wrote:Each bar is 101.35 worth of kpa at sea level. Using baro for your current altitude helps reference the math then gets divided by 101.35.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I thought 1 bar is 100kpa, 101.35kpa is 1Atmosphere (atm).
Find the Manuals up top under Quick links: Manuals. :RTFM:
Cheers Luke
jsmcortina
Site Admin
Posts: 39585
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by jsmcortina »

What firmware?

:msq:

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
motthomas
Helpful MS/Extra'er
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:06 am

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by motthomas »

ol boy wrote:Each bar is 101.35 worth of kpa at sea level. Using baro for your current altitude helps reference the math then gets divided by 101.35.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I'm afraid that is incorrect. 1 bar is 100 kPa. 101.35 kPa is a reference to ISO standard atmosphere sea level conditions only. It is NOT to be used in unit conversion and I'm very surprised this was done by Tunerstudio.
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by David_G »

Thanks for the input everyone!
Exactly my thinking. Pure unit conversion doesn't need any sea-level reference.
jsmcortina wrote:What firmware?

:msq:

James
Thats on the current 1.5.0 firmware.
But its also the same on the previous 1.4.1
Do you want me to post a .msq? I just thought that's not needed as this is a TS issue independent of Tune file.

I already had a look at the mainController.ini and this is where the "conversion" obviously happens
That also explains why there's no error when displaying in kPa - no conversion happening here!

Code: Select all

;fuel pressures
  fuel_press1_psi = {fuel_press1 * 0.147 }, "psi"
  fuel_press2_psi = {fuel_press2 * 0.147 }, "psi"
  fuel_press1_bar = {fuel_press1 / 101.35 }, "bar"
  fuel_press2_bar = {fuel_press2 / 101.35 }, "bar"
jsmcortina
Site Admin
Posts: 39585
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 1:34 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by jsmcortina »

Yes that looks to be an error in the firmware ini file. Nothing to do with TunerStudio.

James
I can repair or upgrade Megasquirts in UK. http://www.jamesmurrayengineering.co.uk

My Success story: http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic ... 04&t=34277
MSEXTRA documentation at: http://www.msextra.com/doc/index.html
New users, please read the "Forum Help Page".
David_G
Helpful MS/Extra'er
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:14 am

Re: Fuel Pressure gauge - "bar" conversion done wrong in TS?

Post by David_G »

Thanks for clarifying, James!

That means I can just move on and use my own gauge.
The "psi" values must be slightly off too then as 1kPa = 0.145psi and not 0.147

edit:
Also thanks for moving the thread to the right sub-forum, i thought that was a TS thing
Post Reply