Mitsubishi 4G63 DSM CAS MS2/Extra 3.57 PCB Yoshifab Disk

All questions about MS2/Microsquirt/Microsquirt module. See also MS2/Extra manuals

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

jsdevel
Experienced MS/Extra'er

Mitsubishi 4G63 DSM CAS MS2/Extra 3.57 PCB Yoshifab Disk

Post by jsdevel »

This post is a sanity check, so if other members could confirm the synopsis at the end of the post I'd appreciate it.

Hello all,

I'm still a newbie to megasquirt. Currently preparing my MS2/Extra 3.4.x / 3.57 PCB board to handle this DSM CAS using Yoshifab's 24/1 trigger disk:

I've been reading the manual and other forum posts for several months now and believe that I've finally stitched together the relevant instructions that are spread throughout the manual.

Relevant sections from the manual (Dated 2016-02-02):

5.2 Crank and Cam tach inputs

Installs requiring a second tach input (cam sensor or part of a CAS) will require additional internal modifications.
See section 5.2.14

5.2.3 Hall sensor input

There are two main categories of hall sensor
  • open-collector (needs a pull-up resistor)
  • built-in pull-up resistor (covered in section 5.2.4)
The hall sensor requires a supply voltage which is usually 12V from a fused 12V supply or 5V from the TPSREF output of the Megasquirt. The sensor is then grounded at the Megasquirt sensor ground and the signal wire connects to the Tach input. A pull-up resistor is required in the wiring harness or inside the Megasquirt.

VR Input with pullup for hall sensors, LS2/58X, optical sensors or points
  1. Find JP1 in the bottom right of the board. Place a jumper across positions 1 and 2
  2. Find J1 in the middle of the board. Place a jumper across positions 3 and 4
  3. Install a 1k resistor (any value 470R - 2k2 is likely ok) onto the pads marked R57