Shift Light

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:14 pm

How would I make an indicator on my dash to show me a shift light without using a wired output? Does TS have this capability?
Thanks for the help.
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:30 pm

Add an indicator that goes on when above your shift point.

If you have TS Ultra, you can use the Channel Editor to add an OutputChannel to point the indicator at.

Use a simple expression that is only true when above your RPM, say you want a shift light at 6500 RPM, the expression would be:

rpm > 6500
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby benckj » Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:30 pm

As another thought could always run Shadow dash and set the RPM gauge limits for the shift points. In fact can use any gauge in this way as gauge will turn another colour based on the limits set (yellow & red). I use my Android head unit for this function so I do not have to keep watching while on the track.
MSPNP v2 with 3.57 firmware
FTDI USB interface on SD Android 5.1 head unit
Toyota MR2 98 3sgte
TD05sl2-18g (billet wheel & high flow turbine)
A2W IC
WI with 50/50 meth/water
User avatar
benckj
Master MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:21 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:18 am

It would be nice to internally use the output of the shift light to change the background color on a gauge. This way there is no need to actually wire a shift light. I can't believe that this was overlooked as it seems quite simple to do in the code.
maybe this could be a future add-on?
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:42 am

vw_chuck wrote:It would be nice to internally use the output of the shift light to change the background color on a gauge. This way there is no need to actually wire a shift light. I can't believe that this was overlooked as it seems quite simple to do in the code.
maybe this could be a future add-on?


Did you not read above?
That are many ways to do that currently.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:47 am

Phil. Not with different rev limits for each gear like the shift light outputs.
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:16 am

Why not?

If the ECU knows the gear you are in, that is just part of the expression for the OutputChannel.

It seems it would be worth building the ini work into TS so end users can just set the values in a dialog. I know creating new channels and what not can get confusing.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:21 am

So I can only accomplish this using the Ultra?
I tried to find what you are talking about in my tuner studio and could not. Unless I am looking in the wrong spot?
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:04 am

Without Ultra, you can create a custom ini.

Add a new OutputChannel:

Code: Select all
[OutputChannels]

     shiftLightOn = { gear == 1 && rpm > [Your1stGearShiftPoint] ? 1 : gear == 2 && rpm > [Your2ndGearShiftPoint] ? 1 : gear == 3 && rpm > [Your3rdGearShiftPoint] ? 1 :  0 }



Or with the beta, there is a new function that cleans this up a bit:

Code: Select all
[OutputChannels]

     shiftLightOn = { selectExpression( gear,  0, rpm > [Your1stGearShiftPoint] , rpm > [Your2ndGearShiftPoint], rpm > [Your3rdGearShiftPoint] ) }

Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Thu Feb 01, 2018 10:26 am

Thanks for the help Phil.
Do you think you will add an indicator that is simply linked to the shift light output? In the shift light calibration just put a drop down on output that says "virtual" so that you can just use the virtual indicator on the dash with no hardwire? Then the shift points can be calibrated under the shift light tab instead of having to add another calibration somewhere else and having two calibrations to remember to change?
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:20 am

vw_chuck wrote:Thanks for the help Phil.
Do you think you will add an indicator that is simply linked to the shift light output?


That is another way you can do it now.

Use the pin state for what ever pin you set it to use. The only down side is you will need to have some pin assigned, but if you have a free pin..

For example, set the MS3 shift light to use PK7.

Then you can assign an indicator to the existing OutputChannel portk7.

The indicator will then be on when pin PK7 is activated.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:48 pm

Ah nice. I will give it a try.
Thanks.
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:03 pm

Phil,
I assigned portK1 to the shift light and then added an indicator to my dash for PK1. It does not work?
Doesn't PK1 become shift light in the code so the indicator will not work? I also tried this with Nitrous 2 but it also does not work? Not sure what I am doing wrong.
I also tried to make an indicator with the add new channel but that does not make an indicator just a gauge and there is no documentation on how to make an indicator.
Not quite sure why this is so difficult to make a lousey On/Off indicator on the dash for a shift light???
Can you possibly just make a predefined indicator for shift light in the next build?
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:25 am

Here is my MSQ if that helps
Attachments
Bug01.msq
(177.53 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:20 pm

I just tried it with port PK7, then used the OutputChannel portk7.
Seems to work fine.

I am using 1.5 firmware. I don't see the shift light feature in your 1.2 firmware. Does it have it?
Where are you setting your shift points?

This might be the trouble.

It wouldn't take much to make you a custom.ini for TS.
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:26 pm

Ah the firmware. Hmmm. I will try updating to the latest firmware and give this another go. As for shift points I was just trying to get it to work at one RPM first before I added the complexity of per gear as I am in process of adding my wheel speed sensor.
Thanks for helping this dumb guy out.
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Shift Light

Postby LT401Vette » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:05 pm

Here is a custom.ini I put together that will give you the TS shift light per gear.

You will need gear detection set up on your MS3
You will need to use the beta TS. It has a new function selectExpression(...). it is not required but much cleaner to use than a ton of nested ternary expressions.

Once you drop this in the folder:
[YourTSProject]/projectCfg/

Then reload your project. You will have a new main button called "Chucks Stuff"
Under there are the settings for the shift light.

Then right click on an indicator an under Predefined indicators, you will see a "On: Shift - Off: Hammer" indicator..
Select that and should be good to go.
Attachments
custom.ini
(1.77 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
User avatar
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 10454
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC

Re: Shift Light

Postby vw_chuck » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:44 pm

Phil thanks alot for taking time to do this. I will drop it in and see how it works.
vw_chuck
Experienced MS/Extra'er
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:16 pm


Return to Tuner Studio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests