How can we log the knock_debug data in TS?

For discussion of Phil Tobin's Tuner Studio software (Only about the tuning software itself, not about how to tune or firmware features)

Moderator: LT401Vette

Post Reply
ShirtUser
Master MS/Extra'er
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:38 am

How can we log the knock_debug data in TS?

Post by ShirtUser »

Knock_debug is sort of fixed in firmware 1.6.0. However, two hurdles present themselves in TS:

1) In order to add the sensorxx channels to the SD card logging, they must be enabled in "Generic Sensor Inputs". But, in order for the ECU to not throw an error and go into a reset loop (cycling the fuel pump repeatedly), they must be disabled. To get around this, you can enable the sensors, but NOT reset/power-cycle the ECU, then add them to SD logging channels. Then, disable the sensors before resetting the ECU.


2) TS won't log the knock_debug channels (sensor 01 through 12). I assume because they aren't enabled.


#1 at least has a path forward even if it's inelegant, but #2 means you can only get the per-cylinder retard data from SD logging, not TS. Is there a way around these two hurdles? And, if #2 can be overcome, can we limit it to just the cylinders that the tune has (instead of all 12)?
LT401Vette
Super MS/Extra'er
Posts: 12733
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Moorseville, NC
Contact:

Re: How can we log the knock_debug data in TS?

Post by LT401Vette »

You could edit the ini file.
In the file:
[YourtunerStudioProjectFolder]/projectCfg/mainController.ini

Down near the bottom of the file, you will find the [Datalog] section.

Go down to where the entries for sensor01 - sensor12 are defined.

Code: Select all

   entry = sensor01, { stringValue(sensor01Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor01_source }
   entry = sensor02, { stringValue(sensor02Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor02_source }
   entry = sensor03, { stringValue(sensor03Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor03_source }
   entry = sensor04, { stringValue(sensor04Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor04_source }
   entry = sensor05, { stringValue(sensor05Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor05_source }
   entry = sensor06, { stringValue(sensor06Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor06_source }
   entry = sensor07, { stringValue(sensor07Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor07_source }
   entry = sensor08, { stringValue(sensor08Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor08_source }
   entry = sensor09, { stringValue(sensor09Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor09_source }
   entry = sensor10, { stringValue(sensor10Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor10_source }
   entry = sensor11, { stringValue(sensor11Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor11_source }
   entry = sensor12, { stringValue(sensor12Alias) }, float, "%.1f", { sensor12_source }
 
That last parameter on each line is the Enabled parameter. If you delete it, then it will always be enabled for logging & SD Selection, even if not enabled.

Code: Select all

   entry = sensor01, { stringValue(sensor01Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor02, { stringValue(sensor02Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor03, { stringValue(sensor03Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor04, { stringValue(sensor04Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor05, { stringValue(sensor05Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor06, { stringValue(sensor06Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor07, { stringValue(sensor07Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor08, { stringValue(sensor08Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor09, { stringValue(sensor09Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor10, { stringValue(sensor10Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor11, { stringValue(sensor11Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
   entry = sensor12, { stringValue(sensor12Alias) }, float, "%.1f"
 
Phil Tobin
EFI Analytics, helping to simplify EFI
Next Generation tuning software.
Supporting all MegaSquirt versions and firmwares.
http://www.TunerStudio.com
http://www.efiAnalytics.com/MegaLogViewer/
Support the firmware running your engine:
http://www.msextra.com/doc/donations.html
ShirtUser
Master MS/Extra'er
Posts: 511
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2022 4:38 am

Re: How can we log the knock_debug data in TS?

Post by ShirtUser »

Awesome, thanks so much!
Post Reply